top of page

Renegrade Craft Fair: A Beautiful Error


Renegrade Craft Fair covers a wide range of designed crafts, including graphic, textiles, jewellery to watches. Everything small that makes you delight, you name it.

I was originally heading to FLUX exhibition (and I even got myself a free ticket from Eventbrite) but at the moment when I touched Bricklane, I was overwhelmed by the graffiti art. I swear I didn't know a single thing about this cool place, and the night markets in that area heighten the atmosphere too! It's the only place I know that can be compared to KL's nightlife area at Jalan Alor.

While I had problem finding my route to FLUX exhibition and eventually gave up after I accidentally bumped into this craft fair.

It's totally a heaven for artists and designers, my eye had never been so healed. The prices are not super reasonable but still cheap. Anyhow, it's craft fair man...craftmanship like LV but not that branded kind of stuffs.

Something interesting...

This exhibition is kinda big if you really go through every store. While I just had 1-1.5 hour left before the exhibition shuts, I had to be quick. Collecting name cards for further reference is my only choice.

Then I thought, is there anything to learn about the name cards? Let's do it!

Here are the name cards that I've collected right before the exhibition ends. Some are quite attractive and some aren't.

I think a good name card is a name card that shouts for attention. This might sound obvious but look how many name cards are destroying some of the local businesses due to their unprofessional/ pixelated images and bad/low legibility typography on name cards.

Only if your company is already a well-establish company, I think a clean san-serif font for texts and simple logo will deliver just enough message you want to tell: drive in customers. It is very important to learn be picky and learn from bad examples (how arrogant am I!)

//san-serif fonts are good for headline

There I've handpicked some attractive name cards and I start to wonder if square name cards slowing becomes the trend. It does look nice and easy to fit into wallet. However, the normal name card ratio is always eye-soothing due to it's golden ratio proportion of length and width (we all are used to the proportion of A4 papers).

The brilliant use of displaying their vector high resolution artwork is actually a fresh idea for me. It's like portfolio on a name card and it's way more stronger than a logo that speaks only brand itself but not what it does.

Most importantly, the texts are super contrasty and clear. It doesn't make your eye squint. Some of the name cards have nice texture too! Hmm..yummy impressions!

 

My picks for best name card designs.

However, design is always subjective. For me, there are many unspoken rule in the world of design that makes everyone develop their taste. But at the end, the goal of design is too communicate effectively, and if a design doesn't meet the goal, it's not design.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Follow Me
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page